Last updated: January 27. 2014 1:58PM - 1996 Views
By Suzanna Brabant Contributing Writer

MCJH 2013-2014 Cheerleaders Taylor Woodard, Bailey Powell, Abby Oyster and Bryn Hesson
MCJH 2013-2014 Cheerleaders Taylor Woodard, Bailey Powell, Abby Oyster and Bryn Hesson
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Macon County High School held an award ceremony on January 26th to honor the students and coaches who participated in 2013 in varsity and junior varsity football. Football managers and cheerleaders were among those honored with a handshake, uplifting words and a certificate of participation. MCHS Vice Principal and Head Football Coach Nathan Wilson was the master of ceremony. He officiated with humor and inspiration, sharing with the audience his vision and passion for Macon County’s football program.

The ceremony began with presentation of individual awards of participation to each member of the Macon County Jr. High School Cheerleading Squad: Abby Oyster, Bailey Powell, Jordan Beasley, Taylor Woodard, Bryn Hesson, Destiney Summers, Courtney Wright, Sydni Bowman and Jaden Haehl were named. Not all were present for the ceremony. Those in attendance were Taylor Woodard, Bailey Powell, Abby Oyster and Bryn Hesson.

Following presentation of the cheerleading awards, individual awards of participation were given to each member of the Divisional Runner-up 2013 Macon County Jr. High School Football Team: Devon Dillehay, A. J. Alcorta, Carson Brawner, Landon Hackert, Noel Martinez, Ryan Carver, Cole Carnahan, Jacob Stoops, Seth Carlisle, Chris Oliver, Brian Swindle, Gavin Lamb, Lucas Dyer, Caleb Simpson, Tanner Wilmore, Stephen Lancaster, Taylor Carman, Landon Wix, Trent Boles, Daniel Blankenship, Chase Whittemore, Isiah Scott, Cody Blackwell, Brandon Keller, Kaleb Forber, Austin Smith, Mitchell McGlothlin, Nick Campbell, Logan Malotta, Cameron Doyle and Aaron Russell, and their student managers. Six members of the team also received All Conference 2013 coaches awards: defensive end Brian Swindle, offensive line Cameron Doyle, linebacker Trent Boles, offensive line Chase Whittemore, quarterback Seth Carlisle and running back Devon Dillehay.

Following, presentation of the junior high awards, Jada Law took the podium to present the high school cheerleading awards. Individual awards of participation in Macon County High cheerleading were given to Katie Ellis, Chelsie O’Hair, Kaitlyn Guard, Amber Davis, Courtney Brooks, Ryan Anne Cothron, Miranda Ray, Leah Johnson, Delaney Johnson, Lauren Gammons and Ashlyn Carter, who were present, and Rachel Underwood, McKenzie Mix and Meghan Gammons, who were not. The cheerleaders also received the UT Knoxville Camp Champ small division award, the TSSAA award for Academic Excellence and the TSSAA State Championship participation award.
MCHS 2013-2014 Cheerleaders received awards of participation: Katie Ellis, Chelsie O’Hair, Kaitlyn Guard, Amber Davis, Courtney Brooks, Ryan Anne Cothron, Miranda Ray, Leah Johnson, Delaney Johnson, Lauren Gammons and Ashlyn Carter.
Head Coach Nathan Wilson took great pride in presenting the individual and special awards to the high school team. He said, “Being in the position I’m in now as the high school football coach is a dream come true. It’s one of those things that I love and that I live for and we have a lot of guys in our football program that have the same passion for the game and passion for the family and the bond that they build by being a part of this football team. That’s what it’s about. That’s what I love about the game and the atmosphere that it creates.”
Coach Wilson thanked assistant coaches Matt Dyer, Jason Hudson, Coty Jett, Adam Show, Anthony Carter, Tim Greenhalgh and Jeremy Phillips and athletic trainer Carrier Calhoun for their role in the football program and presented awards of participation to each of the football student managers: Kianna Keller, Ty Lowhorn, Brooklyn Driver, Brooklyn Brown and Bethany Brown.

He then presented awards of participation to the members of the 2013-2014 Macon County High School football team. Freshman: Adrian Alcorta, Jordan Amos, Marshall Avera, Micah Barber, Dawson Brawner, Dylan Butler, Conner Cannon, Tanner Cleary, Braxton Crawford, Brayden Davis, Trenton Dean, Dalton Dishmon, Chandler Hudson, Markus Jones, Jason Sewell, Tyler Swindle and Owen Watson.

Sophomores: Tyler Carlisle, Ramsey Al-Barkawi, Logan Grace, Tanner Lowhorn, Hunter Dyer, Kameron Dyer, Derrick Harris, Hunter H. Sullivan, Dillon Haliburton, Hunter L. Sullivan, Trace McPherson, Drew Wilmore, Jedediah Coley, Moises Rodriguez and A.J. Simpson.

Juniors: Brandon Graves, Brandon Noles, Aaron Kendall, Gage Carr and Chris Gunter.

Seniors: Carson Cook, Austin Crawford, Mayson Doss, Dalton Driver, Zach Hafeli, Brandon Harris, Josh Holland, K.J. Kitchens, Ramid Medina, Josh Partin, Kevin Raney, Shawn Reagan, Stephen Reagan, Jackson Sircy, Tyler Wilson and Austin Winter.

TSSAA Student Athletic Awards of Merit were given to sophomore, junior and senior members of the football team who maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or better while participating in the football program. Tyler Wilson, Jackson Sircy, Stephen Reagan, Shawn Reagan, Ramid Medina, K. J. Kitchens, Josh Holland, Mayson Doss, Carson Cook, Brandon Graves, Gage Carr, Hunter L. Sullivan, Hunter H. Sullivan, A. J. Simpson, Moises Rodriguez, Trace McPherson, Tanner Lowhorn, Hunter Dyer and Jedediah Coley received the award.
Seniors named to the US Army ROTC Academic All-State Team were Carson Cook, Mayson Doss, Josh Holland, K.J. Kitchens, Shawn Reagan, Stephen Reagan, Jackson Sircy and Tyler Wilson.

Brandon Harris and K. J. Kitchens received the 1000 lb. award for weight-lifting. Coach Wilson described them as “unbelievably strong.”

The awards ceremony culminated with the presentation of two awards: the Jimmy Glover award, from WLCT 102 Mark Darnell to Dalton Driver and the Tony Woosley Award, presented by Tim Case to K. J. Kitchens. A recipient of the Jimmy Glover award in his day, Coach Wilson said, “I’ve always felt like these awards were a huge part of what the Macon County Football program is all about.” The Jimmy Glover award is presented to the player who best represents guts, heart and a winning attitude. The Tony Woosley award is presented to the player who displays high moral character, Christian ethics, dedication, perseverance and leadership on and off the field.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lafayette Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com