Last updated: May 09. 2014 2:51PM - 1206 Views
Tilly Dillehay tcryar@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The board voted to bring in a new Differentiated Pay Plan during its Thursday meeting, which will allow some 86 teachers to get raises this year, based on their performance in teacher observation scores. This system is recommended by the State of Tennessee. Macon County could get about $175,000 from the state to help fund the new raise system, which also aims to reward teachers for advanced degrees. More details on the Differentiated Pay Plan will be hammered out before it is voted on a second time.

Other business during the May 8 meeting:

The board ran through a consent agenda, consenting to a MCHS trip for FCCLA to San Antonio, TX in July.

The board voted to move three new position approvals to a work session for further discussion: a new MCHS Assistant Principal position, a MCHS Family and Consumer Science position, and a MCHS Personal Finance position. The Assistant Principal position sparked quite a bit of discussion, as it has apparently been promoted as a sort of replacement to another position that was created last year and not continued. A work session was set for May 22.

The 5th and 6th Grade Girls Basketball team was honored by the board for a 25-0 season, and for winning several tournaments around the state. One of their coaches, Shawn Carter, was on hand to give the girls commemorative plaques.

The board voted to purchase land adjoining Westside Elementary School for a sum of $36,000. They had made an offer of $30,000 for the land, and owner’s counteroffer of $36,000 was accepted after some discussion. Harper was the lone ‘no’ vote, and the motion carried.

The board approved special course offerings of Tennessee Studies and World Literature & Mythology for the 2014-15 school year at MCHS.

The board approved to advertise the sale of six surplus busses. In a separate vote, they approved the purchase of two used shuttle busses for a total of $20,000. These vehicles are in excellent condition and have very nice features according to Supervisor of Transportation Larry Holland. They can be used for class trips, but not for normal routes.

The board approved to revise the following policies in a single vote: Personal and Professional Leave, Attendance, Home Schools (TSBA), School Admissions (TSBA), Graduate Re-Entry (Delete), Attendance of Non-resident Students (TSBA), Non-Resident Students Extracurricular Activities (Adopt), Student Assignment (TSBA), Child Custody/Parental Access (TSBA).

The board approved the following bid advertisements in one vote: Diesel Fuel for 14-15 school year, bus driver physicals for 14-15 school year, alcohol and drug screenings for 14-15 school year, fire and safety equipment for 14-15 school year, Westside propane for 14-15 school year, OT/PT for 14-15 school year, technology equipment for 14-15 school year.

In a separate vote, they approved to advertise for a technology contract for the 14-15 school year, after hearing statistical information presented by Technology Director David Flynn. Flynn said that the school system would not do as well to try to hire a full time computer technician. He said that he is pleased with the work done by Artis in this year’s maintenance contract, and having run the numbers, made the recommendation to the board that they continue with this tack. They voted to do so.

The board approved Continuing Spending resolutions for the 14-15 school year. They also approved General Purpose Budget amendments, which were listed off and explained briefly by Director of Schools Margaret Oldham.

Meeting adjourned.


In the printed director’s report, the following rehires were announced for the 14-15 school year:

Central Elementary

Leanna Allen, Rachel Bransford, Jerri Lynn Brooks, Fredrick Campbell, Karen Eller, Sherry Gammons, Heather Gann, Tracy Gregory, Tina Johns, Cheri Keller, Ester Langford, Sherry Massey, Gena Nash, Jennifer Pitcock, Tracy Russell, Janie Simons, Lucas Tirjan, Andrea Tuttle, Kara Wheet, Erica Woodard.

Fairlane Elementary

Corinne Agular, Tami Barber, Kristi Bowman, Debbie Bush, Julie Carter, Molly Cowan, Delanie Cox, Jillian Dean, Janet Dickens, Karla Driver, Cindy Ford, Kendra Garmon, Teresa Gregory, Amanda Groesbeck, Crystal Hesson, Emily Johnson, Evette Morgan, Tonia Powell, Holly Wix.

Lafayette Elementary

Kelley Case, Sue Cooper, Natasha Roark-Deering, Angie Dickerson, Kathy Dillehay, Kathy Woods, Kristen Hix, Joni Meador, Kimberly Montgomery, Teresa Rush.


Keith Anderson, Julia Avera, Delanie Baughn, Jeff Beam, Tammy Brawner, Vera Brewer, Rebecca Clark, Andy Davis, Holly Flowers, Glen Gattis, Corey Hammock, Jeanie Hix, Denise Holder, Hannah Holland, Jason Hudson, Rebecca Jezierski-Taylor, Dianne Jones, Jada Law, Lynn Marsh, Malinda Owens, Vicki Pagan, Shana Porter, Beverly Reid, Krystal Sallee, Angie Shoulders, Beverly Shoulders, Carol Shrum, Daniel Tucker, Jason Welch.


Denise Ballou, Johnna Blankenship, Jeanne Boles, Jennifer Brawner, Cindy Bridwell, Randy Bush, Johnna Carter, Lori Carter, Tracy Carver, Craig Cothron, Andrea Crowder, Susan Fitzgerald, Tina Gregory, Daniel Griggs, Susan Hawkins, Jennifer Holmes, Audrey Howser, Natalie Kirby-Smith, Joy Langford, Brenda Oliver, Terri Pardue, Jolisa Reeves, Regina Reid, Casey Roark, Rhonda Stanford, Dawn Towns, Tabitha Wakefield, Justin Wezet, Jason Wheeley, Joey Wilkerson, Monica Wilkerson, Christy Wyatt.

RBS Elementary

Christy Barnfield, Jeff Blakely, Nicole Blankenship, Coleen Castellanos, Jo Ann Comer, Regena Copas, Kristi Dziekiewicz, Cindy Evans, Sharon Fisher, Brandy Fleming, Leslie Goad, Natalie Heady, Laura Hooten, Scarlett Hudson, Tammy Mea, Christy Patch, Nikki West.

RBS High School

Sharon Brockette, Chad Butler, Angela Cook, Sheree Eubank, Shelly Goad, Brandi Hayes, Joyce Jones, Tamara Kirts, Stephanie Loftis, Tammy Marlow, Lisa Mullinix, Susan Newberry, Cindy Porter, Lori Powell, Timothy Roark, Kyle Shoulders, Kent Smith, Karen Turner, Deborah Windsor.

Westside Elementary

Januarie Alred, Shari Bowers, Tamara Budge, Penny Carnahan, Melissa Denning, Andrea Flynn, Jean Griggs, Regina Horton, Colby Jones, Tonya Kirby, Amy Linville, Angela Marshall, Pam Pedigo, Suzanne Smith, Starla Willis.

School Wide

Wynona Clayborne (Diagnostician, part time), Doris Wheeley (Diagnostician, part time), Kelly Carnahan (Instructional Leader), Nikki Hogin (Instructional Leader), Dale Reid (Instructional Leader), Sherry Swoner (Instructional Leader), Rita Wilburn (Data Analysis), Candice Leonard (ELL Teacher), Kim Phillips (ELL Teacher), Joyce Roberts (ELL Teacher), Sharon Woodward (Vision Teacher), Scott Baughn (ALC Teacher), Cathy Stafford (Transition Coordinator), Jane Biles (Elementary Guidance Counselor), Dianne Bussell (Elementary Guidance Counselor), Kim Montgomery (Summer employment), Joy Langford (Summer employment), Joey Wilkerson (Summer employment), Denise holder (Summer employment), Keith Anderson (Summer employment).


Bobby Sircy part time to full time bus driver, Jeff Hughes (interim bus driver), Jackie Shockley, Central (Summer employment), Lisa Taylor, LES (Summer employment), Meaghan Gammons, MCHS (Summer employment), Katie Beth Meador, MCHS (Summer employment), Leonard Hay, MCJH (Summer employment), Kim Farley, Westside (Summer employment), Mike Frye, Westside (Summer employment), Patricia Miller, Central (Summer employment).


Ellen Poston, Fairlane Interim Teacher; Sue Brooks, Fairlane EIS/Bookkeeper; Sandra Knight, Westside Elementary Teacher Asst.; Jerry Monds, County Wide Music Teacher; Gary Carter, MCHS Teacher.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lafayette Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com