Last updated: May 19. 2014 10:18AM - 666 Views

Mikalya Sexton (center) received the Fred and Ruth Clark Memorial Scholarship presented by Christi Dalton.
Mikalya Sexton (center) received the Fred and Ruth Clark Memorial Scholarship presented by Christi Dalton.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Red Boiling Springs High School awards night was held Tuesday, May 13. The following students received awards (not pictured):

Dan Cohen of the RBS Lions Club presented a scholarship to Adabella Nunez.

A special presentation by the RBS Lions Club was made during the night. RBS Lions Club Representative Samantha Hardin (left) presented RBS 2nd grade teacher Peggy Wilson (center) with the RBS Lions Club Educator of the Year award. Mrs. Wilson was nominated by her student Leah Rich (right). Leah wrote an essay about how Mrs. Wilson has influenced her this past school year.

Whitney Ellingson received the Troy Smith Memorial Scholarship from Representative Roy Smith.

Hunter Wheeler also received the Troy Smith Memorial Scholarship from Representative Roy Smith.

Mikayla Sexton receiving the Macon Bank and Trust Scholarship from Allen Melton

Brandon Woodard of the RBS Alumni Association presents Taylor Sutton with the Alumni Association Scholarship.

Mayson Burgener received the US Army Scholar Athlete Award from Staff Sgt. Ellenburge.

Senior Laura Morgan received a very special award. Morgan was awarded a scholarship in memory of Kaylee Brooke Davis. Kaylee was a young girl, 3 years of age, when she lost her life to a spider bite. Kaylee’s grandmother, Corina Davis, presented this award while fighting back tears.

Brenda Williams, representative of the Horace Bean Memorial Masonic Lodge, presented a scholarship to Jenna Dziekiewicz.

Senior Kristen Pryor received the Nestle Pure Life Scholarship from representative Ben Scruggs.

Nestle representative Ben Scruggs also presented Sean Gentry with the Nestle Community Service Award.

Whitney Ellingson receiving the Citizens Bank Community Service Award from Billy Snyder of Citizens Bank.

Mr. Billy Snyder also presented an award on behalf of the Macon County Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Snyder presented the award to Brian Ochoa Proal.

Mr. Tony Boles, teacher at RBSHS, presented a very special award on behalf of his family. Mr. Boles, while fighting back the tears, and even becoming speechless at one point, told of the story of his young nephew, Hagan Hix, who was tragically killed in a dirt bike accident. Savanna Green was the recipient of the Hagan Hix Memorial Scholarship.

Tony Boles also presented the Hagan Hix Memorial Scholarship to senior Taylor Sutton.

Jenna Dziekiewicz was the recipient of the Macon County Education Association scholarship from representative Tony Boles.

Mayson Burgener received a scholarship to attend Tennessee Technological University presented by RBSHS alum Leveda Dexter.

Kristen Pryor was the third recipient to receive a scholarship to attend Tennessee Technological University from Tech representative Leveda Dexter.

RBSHS guidance counselor Stephanie Loftis presented Mayson Burgener with the Macon County General Hospital Volunteer Program Award.

Josh Reagan was presented with a scholarship to attend Lincoln College of Technology.

Mrs. Loftis presented Brian Ochoa Proal with a scholarship from Sonic Drive-In.

Sean Gentry receiving a scholarship from the University of Tennessee at Martin.

Receiving the American Welder’s Association award was senior Jordan Cain.

Dakota Dickens was presented with the Maxie Smith Memorial Scholarship.

Mrs. Loftis presenting Kelsey Jenkins the Marcie Smith Gann Memorial Scholarship.

Mrs. Lena Darnell, representative of the Macon County Education Foundation presented 5 scholarships. The first was awarded to senior Adabella Nunez.

Mackenzie Sadler receiving a scholarship from Macon County Education Foundation.

Jenna Dziekiewicz was the fourth recipient of the Macon County Education Foundation scholarship.

Sean Gentry was the last recipient of a scholarship from the MCEA Foundation.

Principal, Mr. Don Jones, presented Mackenzie Sadler with the A.F. Bridges Award.

A group of seniors laugh as they hear their fellow classmates read the senior class history.

The Red Boiling Springs Class of 2014 held its Senior Awards night this past Tuesday, May 13, 2014. During the night, attendees were treated to a presentation of awards and scholarships, class history of the class of 2014, class wills, class gifts, and class prophecies for 10 years in the future. The night concluded with a memory DVD of the class of 2014 over the past 13 years. During the awards presentation all the graduating seniors were honored with an award from Senator Mae Beavers and State Representative Kelly Keisling.

The night concluded with a special presentation for the RBSHS Seniors. A memories DVD was made, which included pictures from birth to the present, of the seniors and their families. Those pictures were set to favorite songs of the seniors, as well as, voice over messages from the seniors to their family and friends.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lafayette Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com