Gann, Witcher, and Cook are sure wins in August; Turner, Smith, and Wix win Lafayette City

Last updated: May 09. 2014 12:52PM - 1749 Views
Tilly Dillehay tcryar@civitasmedia.com

Rick Gann, a sure win for Circuit Court Clerk
Rick Gann, a sure win for Circuit Court Clerk
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

A total of 3688 votes were cast in the recent May Macon County Republican Primary and Lafayette Municipal Election. 2502 of these votes were cast in early voting and through absentee ballots, with another 1186 votes on Election Day. The 3688 total can be compared to the last May election, in 2010, which saw only 2842 total voters.

The following individuals were voted into office on the Lafayette City Council last week: Marcus Smith, Jerry Wayne Wix, and Steve Turner. Circuit Court Clerk candidate Rick Gann won out in the Primary, and although he will go on to the August election, he has no opponent in that vote. He is considered a sure win for the office.

Other offices that had people on the edges of their seats: County Clerk, which saw Terilyn Sloan coming out on top in the Primary, and Register of Deeds, which saw Cynthia (Cindi) Jones as winner. Both these candidates will go on to face other opposition in the August election.

The following offices had only one Republican candidate on the Primary ballot, and were therefore a shoo-in to go on to the August election: County Mayoral Candidate Steve Jones, County Trustee Diane Cook, Sheriff Candidate William “Butch” Avera, and General Sessions Judge Ken Witcher. Administrator of Elections Barry Doss pointed out that for Witcher and Cook, there is also no opposition on the ballot for the August election.

Similarly, the following Commissioner spots had no competition on the Primary ballot: 1st District (Phillip Snow), 3rd District (Wanda L. O’Donoghue), 6th District (Chris Wix), 7th District (James “JB” Killmon) 8th District (Bobby Ray King, Chad West), and 9th District (Wendell T. Jones). Constable candidate for Districts 7-8, Tony Wayne Law, also had no opposition in the Republican Primary and will go on to the August election.

2nd District winners, who will continue on to the August election, were Mike Jenkins and Scott Gammons. Winners in the 4th District were Justin Dyer and Mchelle Phillips, and in the 10th District were Helen Hesson and Shannon Wix.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lafayette Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com