Election results announced

By Tilly Dillehay

May 6, 2014

Unofficial results of the May Macon County Republican Primary and Lafayette Municipal Election were released at about 8 p.m. on Tuesday.

The following individuals were voted into office on the Lafayette City Council: Marcus Smith, Jerry Wayne Wix, and Steve Turner. Circuit Court Clerk candidate Rick Gann won out in the Primary and will go on to the August election, as did County Clerk candidate Terilyn Sloan, and Register of Deeds candidate Cynthia (Cindi) Jones.

The following offices had only one Republican candidate on the Primary ballot, and were therefore a shoo-in to go on to the August election: County Mayoral Candidate Steve Jones, County Trustee Diane Cook, Sheriff Candidate William “Butch” Avera, and General Sessions Judge Ken Witcher. Administrator of Elections Barry Doss pointed out that for Witcher and Cook, there is also no opposition on the ballot for the August election.

Similarly, the following Commissioner spots had no competition on the Primary ballot: 1st District (Phillip Snow), 3rd District (Wanda L. O’Donoghue), 6th District (Chris Wix), 7th District (James “JB” Killmon) 8th District (Bobby Ray King, Chad West), and 9th District (Wendell T. Jones). Constable candidate for Districts 7-8, Tony Wayne Law, also had no opposition in the Republican Primary and will go on to the August election.

2nd District winners, who will continue on to the August election, were Mike Jenkins and Scott Gammons. Winneres in the 4th District were Justin Dyer and Mchelle Phillips, and in the 10th District were Helen Hesson and Shannon Wix.